First ever Rheumatoid Disease Awareness Day…

Well this is the day that all of us in the Rheumatoid community have been waiting for, and where am I? In bed of course lol, this has been a very strange week weatherwise where I live. Temperatures on Tuesday were in the -40’s C/F range and by Thursday it was +2 C outside. Of course these drastic changes affect the rheum body a lot, yesterday nothing I took brought me relief from pain, it was awful. Coughing made my hip hurt, in fact moving any part of my body caused hip pain. I’ve never experienced such pain ever before, my hips have NEVER hurt in my lifetime, even being pregnant twice! This disease is so unpredictable I never know what the heck will happen next. Even using marijuana for my pain did nothing much, and that is unusual. I have been using the herb to help with my pain, I’m aware that it’s illegal in many places, but it has been decriminalized here and a limping gimp using it for pain doesn’t rank up top police priorities thankfully. Everyone has strong opinions either way, for or against, but to me anyway it’s a much better option than oxycodone, percs and the like. Narcotics make me nauseous, headache, constipated etc. Marijuana is not nearly as addictive and the effect wears off in a few hours, narcotics give me a ‘hangover’ that feels about as pleasant as the pain. I also take tramadol and naproxen on a schedule to prevent pain from becoming unbearable, when it gets bad it scares those around me as they don’t know what to do for me :(. I’m hoping that along with WA & CO states passing new progressive laws more will be able to access this pain relieving miracle. For those who are adamantly against it, we the people in pain will not make you smoke mmj or force it on you. It’s just another option to help people suffering with many awful conditions. I hope you all enjoy this 1st Rheumatoid Disease Awareness Day and share our plight and dreams of a cure with everyone you know, and maybe one day we will no longer scream for pain relief. Peace & pain-free huggs!

2 thoughts on “First ever Rheumatoid Disease Awareness Day…

  1. Melissa says:

    Beautiful post. It just shows everyone is different and we need to respect what works for one may not work for another (besides its still illegal in my state). I’m sorry you had such a rough day yesterday, those days when you can’t get ahead of the pain are just down right scary. I’m celebrating Awareness Day from my bed to…next year maybe it should be a bed in. Hang in there…

    • racanuck says:

      I’ll always keep hangin in, mentally znd physically šŸ˜› I think the messed up weather had alot to do with that, a 40Ā·C change either direction is brutal, when I was younger my osteo would flare too. Today is a bit better.

Comments are closed.