Bothersome happenings

It took awhile but after some time and awareness of an issue starting. Choking, on anything and everything. I have to be cautious and be sure I’m either at a 90· angle or less, as in leaning over my plate, bowl or what have you. It happens alarmingly often and I’m scared to ask a Dr about it, I don’t want to know the answer really. The thought of adding ‘something else’ to my list of illnesses TERRIFIES me. So for the time being I’m keeping my chokehole closed. Plz no ‘go to the dr’ comments.

A handful of xanex couldn’t get me in there.

6 thoughts on “Bothersome happenings

  1. Mary says:

    I’m in the same boat, Stacee and feel EXACTLY the same way. I have had soreness in the neck area for awhile now (a relatively new symptom). It has been difficult to swallow. Now I notice a mass when I press on the left side of my throat that isn’t on the right side. I do see my family doctor Thursday for some paperwork stuff. I might mention it. I totally get what you’re saying though. Half the time we’re not believed, another 1/4 of the time there’s nothing they can do about it and a small percentage of the time it seems worth mentioning. I think that’s just the reality of RA and all the other problems that come with it. Eventually, I figure we give in and mention problems to our doctors when the problem persists. Hang in there !!

    • racanuck says:

      I have problems swallowing too, and I agree with your reasons for not mentioning it for the time being to a dr. Fear of losing yet something else, of not being believed & another obstacle to crawl over. I’m thankful there’s others who understand these feelings. I hope your dr visit goes well Mary 🙂

  2. Annette says:

    There’s a chance it is dryness. Lots of people with RA end up with Sjogren’s Syndrome. I have a friend who has some “funny” – well maybe not so funny stories about choking.

    I eat a lot of soup and not many crackers

  3. mkupl79 says:

    I was wondering about dryness too…? I have Sjogrens secondary to RA and SLE, and I went from being able to toss down a cupful of pills like a champ to needing to take my pills with applesauce or pudding like an elderly person. Or is it more of a constricting feeling? Either way, I’m so sorry you feel this way. I know what you mean by not wanting to add something else to what you’ve already got. So frustrating ❤

    • racanuck says:

      Dryness is part of it too, when Im taking pills, eating… there seems to be a delay when I swallow them, the timing is off and I end up choking. Taking them with food helps somewhat and there is a tightness too and its feels like Im forcing it down. Dry sore eyes all the time as well, Im worried its sjogrens 😦 we never know what’s next with AI disease, ugh.

      • Annette says:

        Sjogren’s is really common with RA. My rheumatologist said half of his patients have Sjogren’s. I did a few blog posts on it but info is easy to find. I like Dr Fox’s dry.org for concrete advice

Comments are closed.