Slipping off the rope …

I’m in a big ole hole thinking too much, thing is what I think about is important, just very distressing. I try very hard not to think about ‘family’ too much, but it’s kinda hard when it’s always being thrown in your face, by tv, social media and the like. Thing is the only family I have are my Mom & my kids, the other people who like to pop in every few years just for something to do I guess, are not my family. They know nothing about me and don’t care to, hell if ‘family’ was so damn important why did no one mention to me or my mother that her brother, my uncle, DIED last year??? I don’t get it, I never hear boo from anyone, my sister was invited to a family reunion this spring. Guess who got invited recently because they FORGOT I existed, if I am an oversight 99% of the time, why the hell antagonize me with oh we just want family to know family, bullshit. Apparently it was not that important that I or my mother to know my uncle had died because no one bothered to let us know. This is not the first time this sort of thing has happened, with my family and my extended family. My ex in-laws are nowhere to be seen for my kids sake, it’s like their Dads & his side of the family just fell off the face of the earth. I’m assuming much here but considering my ex’s skank’s spawn is on his list of FB friends, but his own daughter isn’t. I’m quite sure they’re doing their best as well to forget my kids are even on the earth. Anything ‘family’ turns me off and leaves a nasty taste behind, the last family reunion I went to in 1997 was only because my favourite uncle phoned me personally and asked me to come, he passed away in 2006 I miss him terribly. That one uncle and one other uncle were the only ones who knew who I was and cared to ask about me. No one else wanted me there, go figure. My one sister has made damn sure we were never a part of her or her kids life, they are strangers to me now. She left town when I was 13/14 and I haven’t spoken to her in the last 12 yrs or so. Her choice and that’s fine by me. Why have people in your life that constantly hurt you? no point.

Family is one of those things either you have or you don’t. There is no in between, there’s no repairing of 30+ years of indifference.

All I want is for the emotional pain to stop, the exclusionary feeling to go away and for me to find a place that makes me happy.

Not easy to do when you have no back-up. Everything hurts anymore.

One thought on “Slipping off the rope …

  1. anet37 says:

    It hurts when your family is so uncaring. My uncle died this past year and somehow no one told our whole branch of the family. They emailed and missed us and so 4 weeks later we heard that he was gone.
    It’s not the same situation as yours but is just shows what families can do by not bothering, or not caring, or getting too tired to think about everyone else.
    I remember my uncles when I was a kid. They were teenagers and the crazy ones. We thought they were great

Comments are closed.