Your strength.

Good day eh. Living with chronic illness is tough but time and pain has taught me much about patience. Before being diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis I always expected a quick fix to any ailment I had. After diagnosis I quickly found out that the medications for RA do not work fast at all and can take months to show any positive effects. I have over time learned that with supplements too and also what I eat. Before getting ill I loved my food, ate lots of carbs and other crap, didn’t care about my weight or if what I was eating was making me feel gross with GI issues. But since losing my appetite for the most part I make sure to (most of the time) to put good fuel in for my body to use. It has made a difference in how I feel overall and empowers me in a sense that I’m helping my body do the best it can. Chronic disease can make you feel weak and powerless, no known cause or cure, what ifs and should have dones. Dumping most of the junk and greasy food did nothing but help me out. The fact that RA is linked to heart disease makes it easier to choose healthy foods.

Depression is another ghost that haunts me ceaselessly, that is a ongoing battle here. I was depressed before RA, afterwards when the disease started taking its toll is when I really got lost in my own thoughts. Uncertainty along with pain, heavy duty meds and the rampant misconceptions about RA can put the toughest soul on edge. I sometimes wonder if people are judging me because of depression when there is nothing I can really do about it, I take what’s prescribed for my depression and have tried any new medications that became available. I have been asked if I was diagnosed properly,  I’m pretty sure what I’ve been dealing with since the age of seven is depression and unless you’re a Dr or other professional don’t bother wondering. This is the reason I keep to myself most of the time, I refuse to be patronized and am smarter than most realize.

If I’m not online that is a good thing, I would much rather be busy doing something other than on the net. I find it boring as hell now and mostly pop on to see my wonderful supportive friends and how they are doing. I love all of them ♥.

Cheers!

