The hole.

I have been dealing with a really bad bout of depression lately. Unfortunately I still see ignorant and thoughtless reactions to it.

Just throwing my opinion out there but why can you no longer express emotions that are not sunshine and rainbows? I find most are extremely uncomfortable with pain. Emotional and physical. Why? Pain and hurt are normal emotions we all experience. It is quite absurd to me that human beings are so fearful of it. I don’t understand the fear of reaching out to someone who is hurting at all.

I know of many who experience depression and many of them keep silent. I understand why. People will go out of their way to avoid you and your ‘misery’. Also you’re stigmatized to high hell. Because that’s what people do to others with illness. I’ve been asked what I consider ridiculous questions. Talk to someone? Get help? Blah blah blah. I have had medication resistant depression for 35 years now. In that time frame I’ve talked to psychiatrists, psychologists, therapists and Doctors. Tried every medication that is safe for me. Crisis lines, friends and family. Nothing has ever gotten rid of it permanently.

If you have depression you have my sympathy and understanding. It’s like having a rabid angry monkey on your back all the time. And sometimes modern medicine and therapy does not help.

It is not your fault.

One thought on “The hole.

  1. I’m sorry you’re having a crappy time, and I’m sorry people are being crappy about it. It just sucks.

    I know this is just like the rest of our chronic issues – it’s not going to go away. I hope, though, that this “depression flare” passes for you soon, and you get some easier days soon.

    I feel for you. ❤

Comments are closed.